Ripply Fish?!?!

My Creative Space this week was supposed to comprise a cardigan I’d knit for myself however it didn’t make it for two reasons

1)  I intended to model it myself but B was going to work by the time I finished it

2)  When I popped it onto my dress form to photograph it became blatantly apparent that it desperately needed blocking.  I have to admit it had been a little apparent before that but I thought that with the aid of a few strategically placed pins I could get away with it but that would be – NO

So the cardy is currently enjoying (hopefully) a wool cycle in the washing machine and instead we have the latest pram/cot (crib) blanket I’ve been asked to do…

It is again from Comfort Knitting and Crochet Afghans, is called Fish Ripple Pattern and is in a double knitting yarn.  The grandmother to be choose the colours which will  show up better when I take a pic in daylight.

I meanwhile had about three hours sleep again last night before today’s dialysis so I am expecting to sleep well tonight especially since B has accused me of overdoing it today – but we’ve a nurse coming out tomorrow to check out the house’s suitability for carrying out peritoneal dialysis (it was only arranged today) and B’s ‘It looks alright’ wasn’t satisfying me.  I mean okay I could just have stuffed the card making stuff back in the cupboard without finishing off my sis-in-law’s card and the paper bin under the desk possibly didn’t need emptying but the soil in the porch from a wayward plant really did need brushing up and whilst I was at it I might as well sort out the covers on the settee’s again, wipe down the kitchen worktops and get the bubble wrap out of the glory-hole while I was at it.  B took the cloth and vinegar spray off me before I had chance to clean the porch window (or rather Bud’s nose marks off the window) and did it instead.

However dialysis this way at home could cut out the problem of lack of sleep on the evening before dialysis mind you since it can be done during the night it could also keep me awake all night!  I’m now off to check on my washed cardigan there could be tears if it ends up like the tea cosy and then I’m off to bed where Bud’s already had an early night!

Other Creative Spaces can be found here.

3 responses to “Ripply Fish?!?!

  1. Hi Paula – oh, how I hope, hope hope your cardigan came out of the wool wash NOT looking like the tea cozy! The pram blanket pattern is so pretty.
    I hope the meeting with the nurse to set you up for the peritoneal dialysis went well and that it gives you some measure of flexibility to arrange it around getting a good night’s sleep. Gotta give B a gold star for his efforts to look out for you – what a good fellow he is. XO

  2. Yes, fingers crossed your cardi survived washing and blocks beautifully. I’m always a bit apprehensive and then amazed at how blocking transforms crochet. Loving the ripply fish!

    Hope the nurse decides that you can do your dialysis at home, that would hopefully make life much easier … I would have been tidying up too – but I would definitely have delegated window cleaning (hate that job!).

  3. Oh I hope it made it out of the wash ok!!

Leave a Reply

