Royal Holiday Day 3

Day one of this cycle of DT-PACE finished 2.15 am this morning. With the dialysis only finishing at quarter to midnight on Thursday it was about one by the time it was hooked up. There was actually a slight discrepancy between the amount of one of the drugs on the prescription and on the actual bag of goodies. This resulted in one of the nurses ringing the doctor at nearly one to check it was okay. I didn’t mind when I found out because it was the doctor that had had THAT conversation with me in October. You know it was only a couple of weeks ago that B realised which doctor this was. He hadn’t made the connection and stated that he thought he seemed nice. I said he may very well be but I’m slightly biased. And indeed Auntie Ann said he always says hello if he’s at the desk when she passes whereas some others just keep their heads down. I said he may very well nice be but I’m slightly biased but fortunately obviously not to the point of being openly so.

So far so good I feel fine. We had takeaway pizza last night and were planning on a Chinese tonight and then we realised that dialysis were unlikely to be as accommodating as haematology with regard to providing plates and cutlery. So once again we opted for pizza as it was easier to eat. However as we were working on the basis that we would be going down about six or shortly after we thought we’d order when to got down there. In fact one of my fellow patients offered to combine orders to get it delivered and then her husband asked if we wanted him to pick ours up as well when he went over for theirs. By five to seven they had phoned to say a porter was on the way. By twenty five past seven B was all for us walking down. When I floated this past the nurse covering the ward she said she’d ring down. At five to eight it turned out that they’d had a problem with a patient but had forgotten to ring us and it would be nine o’clock. So B stormed off to get the pizza saying that if the porter turned up before we were finished they would just have to wait. As it happened the porter did turn up early and it was a really pleasant nice one that I knew. He did say he would ring down and come back but B decided we would pack up the pizza and head down. In the end I was connected about quarter past nine so it’s gonna be quarter past one by the time I get disconnected and then I need to get back to the ward get washed, changed, mouth care (okay that’s 30 seconds but I felt the need to state that I was doing it), get my meds and get hooked up to the chemo. I don’t think I had so many late nights as a teenager and then I got to lie in to as no-one was forcing, I mean offering, me breakfast at eight am.

My stay so far hasn’t been entirely uneventful, I mean so far fortunately from a medical viewpoint it has which is obviously paramount, but we have had a couple of booboos. We’d not been here an hour on Thursday and B knocked a bottle of Dr Pepper off the table onto the floor. He then offered me it or the Pepsi. I had wanted Italian lemonade but they didn’t have it. I choose the Pepsi. B then opened the Dr Pepper and it squirted everywhere. Fortunately only a bit got his jeans but there seemed a fair amount on the floor – not much went for the bottle but isn’t that how it is it always looks more when it’s free.

Then yesterday I pushed my netbook back on my table and knocked off the full water jug that was behind it. I hit the end of the bed and most of it landed on the two blankets I’d stockpiled for the night so saved the bed itself but some got the floor. As it was because I was hooked up the young patient in the next bed and her friend got to it before I did and even when I offered to take the second lot of paper towels off her insisted on finishing it off. ‘Ha!’ I thought at least B didn’t see me do it just before he walked in to see it being cleaned up!

8 responses to “Royal Holiday Day 3

  1. If spillage is the worst of this visit, I deem it “success”!

  2. Glad it’s been uneventful medically! Fingers crossed it stays that way.

  3. FL says “It’s just as well you are not ill, being kept waiting like that!”
    Amazed they allow take-out food in the hospital – I would never have thought that was a possibility. WE always assumed patients were meant to starve on NHS soggy cornflakes! 😉

  4. So, how was the pizza?

    • It was really good. In case you were curious we had pepperoni, fresh tomatoes and mushrooms on one and red peppers, jalapenos, onions, green peppers and goats cheese on the the other. 😀

  5. Where did you get your pizza from? this is the important question 😛 x x

    • Papa Johns – just across the way. Apparently it’s free delivery on anything over 8.99 which is just about every pizza but I think having pizza actually delivered to my bed side might be a step too far. 😀 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~My Blog – http://www.feresaknit.wordpress.com My Shop – http://www.feresa.etsy.com Facebook & Ravelry -Feresa

      The wonders of modern technology!

      ________________________________

  6. paula, so glad things are going so well medically. ah…more high jinx with the bungling and the fizz – so glad you can laugh and write about it, because WE get to read about it! always a pleasure. here’s hoping that all will progress well with the treatment you are receiving – sure sounds like a good start. love, xo, karen

Leave a Reply

