Happy New Year

Happy 2012! I have to admit I’m not a big fan of New Year’s Eve. I looooooove Christmas and for me New Year pales in comparison. However something this year made me think of the traditions that use to happen when I was younger. We would all go to my Great Auntie Betty’s for Christmas Day and then New Year’s Eve, but New Year would include more friends and neighbours. Just before midnight the men, with me tagging along, would go out the back gate, down the entry (alleyway) and round to the front door. At 12 someone would knock, the door was opened and the New Year let in. This was always done by a man and preferably one with dark hair – Auntie Bet was made up with B for this reason. I don’t remember any of the other traditions actually being carried out but I do remember people talking about things they use to do such as carrying coal, bread, to ensure there was heat and food for the coming year. At our current house I suppose I couldn’t expect B to go out the back door and round the front on his own, let alone carrying stuff, since it would involve several six foot fences.

Anyhoo, back to this year. The three of us spent New Year’s Eve quietly at home. Last year we went to one of our neighbour’s but his lady friend has shingles so I had to steer clear. We went to Auntie Ann’s on New Year’s Day when she cooked a fantastic roast. I ate everyting on my plate (about half/two thirds what I’d usually eat) much to B’s amazement and also causing him to exclaim ‘How come you ate all that but don’t eat all your tea?’ A friend said I should have pointed out that it was three o’clock in the afternoon and not half past nine at night! Bud got his own roast dinner too.

And you won’t believe what happened yesterday. Or maybe you will because I do tend to be slightly accident prone as evidenced last week by me knocking over two full 500ml (roughly a pint) glasses of drink within three days prompting B to ask if I was going to continue at this rate.

Anyhoo, back to yesterday. I’ve been going for dialysis on a Monday, Wednesday and Friday at seven am. B took me Boxing Day and the Wednesday of that week as there wasn’t transport available. Friday I got picked up by a mini bus type ambulance at 6.25am, Monday it was 6.10am and it turned out I needed to be ready not for 6.30 but for 6.00 as arrival time depended on who else they were picking up from where. On Wednesday I was picked up at about 6.20am and everything went fine, I felt quite good, I watched a couple of films and did some crocheting. Then when we were finished I started getting flashing light type things in my eyes suggestive of a migraine so more than anything I just wanted to get home. I managed to get down to the ‘Hospitality Suite’ without incident even though things weren’t too clear. I think you have had to experience these visual disturbances to understand completely, you can still see but not properly – it’s so weird. As it happened the driver was at the desk when I got there so there was no wait. I got on the mini bus and sat as far back as I could so I wasn’t near any bacteria I didn’t know, er I mean people I didn’t know. Altogether there was five of us being transported and I was dropped off first.

This is where it gets a bit gross so anyone with a delicate stomach may want to look away.

My sight went back to normal and fortunately no headache actually materialised. BUT I suddenly realised I felt sick. Now we know that for me ‘I feel sick’ means ‘Pass me a sick bowl immediately because I’m about to make a deposit’. BUT it was okay because I had a poop scoop bag in my pocket just in case of this eventuality. I fished it out and whilst juggling the netbook bag and large bag of crocheting/yarn I threw up. Now I thought that it had all gone either in the poop bag, in the crocheting bag or down the front of my coat so I didn’t even contemplate letting the driver know. It would appear though with the benefit of hindsight that I was wrong. I just relievedly got off the mini bus and flopped into the house, where B took my coat, hat, gloves and scarf and threw them in the washing machine whilst I went for a wash.

However it turned out that the bottom of the paper/board bag I had my crocheting in was er, we’ll go with moist, meaning that some of the vomit must have hit the floor! And I got off without saying ANYTHING AT ALL!!!!! Every time the phone rang today I thought it was going to be Hospital Transport telling me I’d been black balled. B said ‘Why didn’t you just tell the driver?’ to which I responded ‘Because I didn’t even look at the floor!’

Plus with my nature of coming clean with everything I need to explain/apologise for it to someone. Maybe I should start with the girl who sits in the other back seat ‘cos she probably got an eyeful after I’d got off. Ugh – I don’t think there’s much worse than other people’s sick. Usually I hate being sick in front of people, particularly those I don’t know, and at one point in the Royal I spilt bloody (my mouth was bleeding a fair bit) vomit on my bed sheet as I sat up in an attempt to avoid the ‘Hostess’ (catering lady) seeing the bowl of sick. So it’s not a sight I would usually force on anyone.

As it turned out I did feel decidely off for the rest of the day, slept most of the afternoon, was sick again just after I’d had a bath and barely ate any tea but I feel much better today, apart from the guilt.

So, hopefully, I’ll get picked up tomorrow morning and I really hope it’s the same driver so that I can get things off my chest first as last. I mean I’ve only been picked up three times and have already managed to make a mess.

10 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. First footing on New Year’s Eve was a tradition for us too … I think it’s a northern thing and my Dad being Scottish, it had to be done. Haven’t thought about it in years. Nowadays it’s all about fireworks which doesn’t quite seem right and scares the #*!@ out of the dog.

    I’m guessing the drivers are used to that and worse … I wouldn’t worry about it, but I guess I’d want to say sorry too!! Hope there aren’t any repeat performances!!

  2. Ooops! Forgot to say ‘Happy New Year!’

  3. Oh boy P, I’m sure they understand but a miserable way to feel whilst
    riding in a vehicle for sure. Just wondering if you get your blood pressure checked after the dialysis. I get flashing lights in my eyes if my BP drops
    and dialysis can cause your BP to go too low. Low BP can make you feel sick to your stomach too. I’m with ya on New Year’s Eve. Not my favorite.
    Seems to remind me too much of how fast the time flies.

  4. The driver will be completely non-plussed about the vomit…they train to accept it as part of the job. I’m sure he will just hope your better now x
    I….yes I was taught to leave through the back door with coal and bread and knock on the front door and my father would let me in. He had jet black hair like a raven till he died at 69. When i bought a maisonnette and could not get around the v6 foot fences, I started to open the front door and SCREAM Happy New Year at the top of my voice, which I still do to this day. People used to shout back, but they don’t anymore 😦 x

  5. Oh dear!! lets just hope they clean the mini bus before they pick you up again eh 😉

  6. HAPPY NEW YEAR! Thanks for posting as when we don’t see a post we worry bout’ ya! Sorry to hear of your continued visits to the Royal for Dialysis as we had hoped that you were not going to have to have that as often. Keep clear of the shingles…..mine are finally clearing up after a month of pain, itching, rashes, blisters and more fun than I ever want to have again. Hope you are feeling MUCH better very soon!

  7. HAPPY NEW YEAR, PAULA! I LOVED HEARING THE STORIES OF THE OLD TRADITIONS, SO MUCH MORE MEANINGFUL THAT NOISY LIGHT IN THE SKY. WE STARTED ONE HERE – WE BUNDLE UP AND TAKE THE DOG TO A LOVELY PARK WHERE LOTS OF PEOPLE WALK, MAKE EYE CONTACT WITH EVERYONE WE ENCOUNTER, AND SAY HAPPY NEW YEAR. IT ELICITS MANY HAPPY SMILES AND FEELLINGS OF GOOD CHEER. THEN WE GO HOME TO EAT WAFFLES AND BACON. TRY NOT TO FEEL TOO BAD ABOUT THE BUS – IF ANYONE SAW YOU, I’M SURE THEY JUST FELT BAD FOR YOU AND WISHED THEY COULD HELP SO GLAD YOU ARE FEELING BETTER. HUGS, KAREN

  8. Happy New Year Paula. x x x

  9. Happy New Year!
    And like the others said – I bet the driver is used to all sorts of “deposits”. It comes with the job I think.
    The time of day for dinner is an important point – can’t you arrange to eat earlier than B – i.e. if he is the cook, that you eat your portion the next day at a time to suit your digestive system rather than in the middle of the night? You could just have a cuppa with him when he is dining.

  10. I ache sometimes to be there with you and just keep my arms around you good and tight.

Leave a Reply

