A nude aviator bear

I finished knitting my second bear and while sewing it up made the same boo boo I’d done with the Pyjama Bear – I sewed an arm up and then I sewed the second one, except it wasn’t the second arm it was the back of the head!  Fortunately I realised before I’d actually finished sewing it up this time.

I thought this bear’s clothes would be a complete doddle after the pyjamas.  HA! The goggles are a ‘little’ too small…

and my loopy knitting didn’t look anything like this…

I really should have taken a photo to show you just how unlike the knitting in the book it was.  But ‘tomorrow is another day’ and it’s the day to crack loopy knitting.  It’s also the day I go to see the Prof at the Day Unit.  Uncle Ray took me for my blood taken yesterday and I had an amazing experience – I was in phlebotomy all of five minutes and that included having the blood taken!

The current issue of Myeloma Matters arrived recently and there was an article on kidney issues in it – which was good and bad.  Good in that information is good and bad in that signs of kidney issues include nausea, er yes, and fatigue, well kind of, in that I do feel tired as opposed to ill but feel better after a nap so it’s not really fatigue.  Plus I do know that a friend on Revlimid, albeit a higher dose, can sleep and sleep, particularly if he over-does it.  And my, shall we say waterworks are fine both in frequency and well, colour (don’t be trying to tell me I’m the only one who checks it looks like light straw, okay obviously not actual straw because that would be just wrong).

I’ve still not got my appetite back but guess what, that’s listed on the side effects for Revlimid, along with nausea (‘cos I’ve had a bit of that) and tiredness. There’s a whole bunch, and I mean WHOLE bunch, of other stuff but I skimmed the majority and just looked for what was relevant to moi.  As the leaflet also says about taking dexamethasone I think some of the numerous side effects relate to that too because I certainly don’t remember so many being listed on Thalidomide.

I must be driving B potty with the appetite thing but he’s only nearly cracked once when I was completely unable to come up with a shopping list for the following evening’s meal – after I’d had to fry a piece of chicken as the grill has bust and the lingering smell was putting me off.  I either feel like something one day and when I get it I don’t eat much or I enjoy something so B stocks up on it the following morning and I don’t want to see it, let along eat it ever again.

I have however hit on the possible cause of some of the tiredness today, and also the reason for my headache of the last couple of days – caffeine.  It’s not like I drank a lot – two cups of tea or coffee a day but I’ve been off that too.  I didn’t have much choice of a drink before Armchair Yoga, or rather there wasn’t much I liked the thought of so I went for Pepsi and not only did I feel decidedly perkier my headache disappeared too.

Oh, oh and Bud and I went for our very first proper solo walk yesterday (I did however have two naps later) – as in solo together without B – all three of us had been for walks Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Speaking of Buddy look how neat he is – he stacks his little legs while sleeping…

unlike B who’s responsible for the tissue box on the floor and since we’ve been ejected from our usual venue for Armchair Yoga, the next three weeks at least are being held in our lounge so needless to say the tissue box will have to go.

 

7 responses to “A nude aviator bear

  1. Is a nude bear a bare bear? A missed posting title opportunity! Ha!
    On Revlimid and sleeping, I have not had one full nights sleep since I have been on Revlimid. I am wide awake from 1:30 to 4am each night regardless of prior naps, amount of sleep the prior night, etc. Linda has gotten very good at sleeping through my restless hours. So far, the Revlimid seems to be keeping the myeloma at bay, so I can learn to live with less continuous sleep. ez

  2. Poor bear – he’ll get cold (not to mention embarrassed at being displayed in his birthday suit!). Hope you crack the loopy bits today!

  3. Ah yes – when does tiredness become fatigue? When is it “manageable”? We had this conversation with the consultant yesterday. She asked if tiredness stopped FL from doing what he wanted to do, was it “debilitating”? Um… well it makes him want to SLEEP! Where does that fit on the chart, doctor?

  4. I get a headache if I don’t have my cuppa in the morning and then I’m wondering why I feel ‘off’ later in the day… intending that caffeine in some form gives you a bit of a lift and that you are feeling better and better each day, including feeling up to dealing with bare bears!

  5. Bloke in the Carpe Diem.....

    Hi P…. your obviously feeling a bit better…. up and about with the K & S’ing.
    I know everyone’s mm journey is different and variations in response to treatment can be huge…. but i thought our experience of rev is quite upbeat and worth sharing. J started with rev 18 mths ago… and for about six months felt the same as you…. fatigue and nausea. However her response in terms of pp level was a reduction to 0. ( a level never achieved after SCT.) …. following this the dex was removed, and life has taken on a scary normality….. and you would be hard pushed to spot she was the ill one out of the two of us… so hang in there…..
    On a personal note I may no longer be in the carpe Diem….. see http://www.bienpublic.com/haute-cote-d-or/2011/10/31/incendie-au-carpe-diem winter looking grim now!……

  6. Tim used to swear by Pepsi for hangovers back in the day. These days, it takes much less booze to cause a hangover for him and thanks to the leftover stash from transplant, he uses Ativan for those rare occasions.
    I imagine trying an Ativan and a pepsi together might have him thinking about taking up drinking regularly again. ;o)

  7. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm teddy.

Leave a Reply

