Don’t fall till you get home

I received a phone call last evening informing me that the family had a new member.  Although I was extremely happy at this news and that mother and baby were both doing well despite one of them having about 3,000 stitches it buggered up my planned present!

I have been getting on with my Greenway blanket from Comfort Knitting and Crochet Afghans and liking it a lot.

The ‘daisy-shaped’ blocks are just beguiling (there’s a word I never thought I’d used) and with the original having multi-coloured stripes rather than just the two I’d thought a blanket in pale baby colours would be great – so ‘daisy-shaped’ blocks in pastel colours – maybe not so good for a boy!

Anyway I suppose I should just thank my lucky stars that I’m in any condition to crochet/knit anything as on Sunday I fell.  And not just a quick slump to the ground but a wild and dramatic stumble that lasted about an hour before I ended up on my back staring up at B bending down over me looking slightly, okay I under exaggerate, he looked extremely horrified.

My left ankle kind of went over and then I must have over compensated to the right and I veered to the right of the path crossing in front of B and almost stopping half way across as I received a note from my collapsed L3 vertebra that it really didn’t like what I was asking it to do and then I was on the ground.  Well okay I managed to think in-between the vertebra message and landing ‘Oh dear!’. Really, that was all – although I can at times turn the air blue at others for some reason I say ‘gosh’ or ‘blimey’ or, as the case in point, ‘Oh dear’.

So there I was on the ground on the weedy/grassy edge of the track in complete and utter surprise – the surprise stemming not so much from the fall as from the lack of pain – any sort of pain – other than a teeny, tiny bit of grazing to my palm from an equally teeny, tiny splinter.  At the realisation that I’d not broken, bruised or sprained anything I started to laugh.  B reached down and lifted up my sunglasses to check whether it was a laugh or a cry – popped then back down and after giving me a minute helped me to my feet.  After me declining the offer to go back home (we hadn’t even got that far) we carried on, me with a feeling of almost euphoria and B being the one who probably needed to go home for a stiff drink.

7 responses to “Don’t fall till you get home

  1. Had you perhaps had a stiff drink BEFORE going out!

  2. Oh, are you better now?

  3. P, it’s hard to tell where you’re safest, on your feet or in the car. I hope you are OK. If you persist, we may have to put your “training wheels” back on.
    Denise- who despite being athletic is still quite lacking in the gracefulness dept. too.

  4. So thankful you are okay…you scare me! We are going to have to wrap you in bubble wrap so you won’t hurt yourself. Hope you didn’t experience any delayed consequences and are happily settling in back home.

  5. Your posts are quite thrilling – in a kind of slo-mo way… and you will have to post again quite soon so we don’t worry that there was some unseen consequence of the ‘tumble.’ Here in the jungle we carry a ‘staff’ usually made of wood, a kind of cane except that it’s usually not a straight piece and it looks all gnarly. This helps us keep our footing on rocky dirty roads and narrow paths… shall I send you one?

  6. Pingback: Sporty Ephipany | Feresaknit's Blog

  7. Pingback: New Boots | Feresaknit's Blog

Leave a Reply

