Teary toilets

I was going to bore you all with more of our toilet exploits but after sitting down to type it Bud wouldn’t let me.  So instead I shall enlighten you with ways to entertain your dog and yourself – well, I think Bud would be more likely to say yourself.

Bud was feeling quite hard done by this morning because he had to wait until the plumber had gone before getting the walk he was not so subtly requesting.  I think he felt he should be rewarded for being a little trooper yesterday after I had a toilet meltdown.  Actually it wasn’t so much the toilet leaking over the kitchen, which got cleared up and disinfected, or not being able to use it AGAIN as the ringing up and having a conversation over this with Dyno-rod.  It wasn’t so much the straw that broke the camel’s back as the one that tipped it onto its side and it needed help getting up.

I got up yesterday and didn’t want to talk to anybody and was really teary.  (I had slept fitfully because it was hot – nothing to do with the horror film before bed). I hugged Bud and sniffled, I hugged B (who thought it was his fault) and sniffled, I watched the TV and sniffled, I thought about ringing up and sniffled, I sniffled while Bud attempted to console me by licking the back of my head – there were bits inbetween when I didn’t sniffle and by early afternoon I had knit my way through the sniffling and felt up to taking Bud out.  I hadn’t trusted myself before not to start sniffling if one of the neighbours spoke to me.  I laughed for the first time in the day just before I walked Bud at 14:00.  Whilst walking Bud I had a minor sniffle.

I’ve never had seven hours like it.  I wasn’t sad as such just teary and completely lacking in the urge to speak – Bud must have thought he had gone deaf.  First thing in the morning I would have put money on it lasting until I woke up this morning but when I walked back into the garage with Bud at 15:00 and B was stood there I gave him a smile and felt better (sorry I didn’t warn you you may need a sick bag).  I said I hadn’t phoned about the toilet and he said he was too frightened to ask in case I shouted at him.  (I had suggested on Sunday night he may like to deal with it but he hadn’t taken me up on my offer.)

B did ring up and then when the guy said he’d ring engineer 17 and get back to us B suggested I may like to take the call as he didn’t know what else to say.  By this time I couldn’t believe how I’d felt earlier and that I hadn’t just made the call myself.  As it was B didn’t need to take the call as Engineer 17 materialised at the front door shortly after resulting in a plumber calling today.

So I walked Bud this morning and then I abandoned him and went to Armchair Yoga (also abandoning the toilet which had worked fine after the plumber had tinkered with it but had become blocked again after he left – they are coming back tomorrow – I did manage to ring this time) and then went off to the Blood Support Group this evening.

Opps, I did bore you with toilet details just not the ins and outs as such.  Moving swiftly back to entertaining Bud.  After the friend I went to the group with had left I sat down to blog and Bud protested that this wasn’t the appropriate thing to do and he wanted some attention.  So I took the two pre bed treats I had in my pocket and went into the bedroom where Bud jumped onto the bed and sat down anticipating getting a biscuit.  However I hid the biscuits under the duvet and although he is really smart in other regards getting under cover by himself perplexes him.  He knew where the first treat was and attempted to pick it up through the duvet – which was really funny until I realised that he may chew through – and then he tried to paw his way through.

I then hinted that maybe he should go under the duvet – which he attempted resulting in his back legs sliding off the bed and me getting an almost disgusted look when I laughed.  He did finally find his way to this biscuit.

The second one was at the bottom of the bed and although he worked out quicker that he could just nose the duvet out of the way he did initially try to pick this one up through the cover and I cannot adequately describe how funny this looked.

I may have some explaining to do if Bud suddenly takes to stalking the duvet looking for treats but then again by weekend we may have taken to living on a camp site because I understand they have toilet blocks with lots of flushing toilets.

 

 

 

 

7 responses to “Teary toilets

  1. Some days we just need to cry and that is all there is to it! Glad you felt better after your walk and hopefully Engineer 17 will figure things out sooner or later. Your humor always brightens my days as I pictured Bud under the duvet! Only time will tell if he surprises you and makes a habit of it! Keep smiling Paula!

  2. Some days life is just too much. On those days I usually just want to crawl back under the duvet … but crying works too!

    Seriously though, how complicated can a toilet be?! I’m having panic attacks just thinking about being without an operational loo for so long!! The campsite is sounding quite appealing and I’m no fan of camping!

  3. I once had weeks of sniffling and can report that although one day is OK more than that only results in a permanent red nose and sore eyes. We have a Porta Potti if you get desperate but we’ll need it back for August.

  4. Oh bother, I can’t believe the trouble your “throne” is giving you.
    Hope they get it solved ASAP. It’s no wonder your Buddy won’t leave you be if you keep treats in your pocket! Our Lacey goes under the covers readily but then charges around forgetting that there is an end to the bed,
    which has me diving to catch her before she falls on the wood floor. I think I must finally adapt to the fact that those border collie brains aren’t kicking in ever. She plain got on the beagle line for her gray matter.

  5. Oh poo! Don’t you wish you were a dog and could just cock your leg against a tree?
    Happy days are on their way with Engineer 17 – and if not, demand that they supply a porta loo until they get it fixed – do they have a guarantee?

  6. I, long ago, gave myself indefinite permission to cry whenever I felt like it. Trying not to uses too much energy.

    Our little Finn will also try to bite through anything covering something he wants: quilts, clothes, his older brother. . .

  7. I just did a post on my blog and I thought this would interest you also. Several things are happening, Family life upheaval, emotional upheaval . When Mercury goes retrograde, these irritants increase. I t will be that way till nearly the end of April, then smoother sailing. I read a really good article on this and your ups and downs are a perfect example of same. So take a big breath and relax and use this time to hibernate. Be Well!!!

Leave a Reply

