Did you miss me?

I missed you.  I couldn’t believe that the last time I posted anything was last Saturday.

I feel like I’ve been a bit of a glum bum!  I should have been all excited about new storage that would get our second bedroom back to my sewing room rather than potentially the mother in law’s room!

I’ve been out every day and fortunately it was all appointments or with friends otherwise I don’t think I would have gone out.  I’d just have stayed in and moped about as it would have been just too much effort.  When I did sit down to type something and nothing – well that’s not right more everything.  The mother in law is dragging me down and when I sat down to type something even craft related it all wanted to pore out the end of my fingers but not in a coherent fashion just a bit explosion of stuff.  Basically I don’t want to do anything that involves me seeing or speaking to her and I feel guilty about it.

Yesterday we went to meet the occupational therapist at the m-i-l’s at to persuade her to use a bath seat/lift , before she starts to smell.  We received three phone calls before actually getting there…

10:30 – ‘Will you bring me a pie when you come.  You can get yourself one too.’

11:30 – ‘Don’t forget my pie.’

13:00 – ‘I’m starving, where’s my pie?’

But I’ve been feeling decidedly better today even though I got lost, I mean mislaid, I knew I was in Liverpool and generally the name of the road I was on or had just passed but with no idea how to get to where I needed to go.   I telephoned the lady I was going to see at Sunflowers, which is where the Blood Support Group meetings are held, she was apparently no good with directions but if I headed for the airport I should find them and I should take my time and not get stressed!

When I ended up in Sefton Park, which is very, very nice, and a place I intend to visit again but on purpose, I phoned a friend who comes from Liverpool but who is crap with directions.  I thought at least Pat will be able to tell me if I’m anywhere near Aigburth.  I was, but true to form – ‘Your ringing me for directions?!?!?’  Anyhoo with the aid of multimap, a colleague of Pat’s and a notice board displaying a map of the park I was only an hour and 10 minutes late for my appointment but the lady I was going to see said she didn’t mind!  I believed her particularly since she was very surprised when given my date of birth and said I looked about 31.  Hairless is obviously a good look for me since one of the nurses during my holiday said she thought I was 35 but I still had hair at the time!

And now I feel even better because of this…

Yes, I know, nothing.  There was a bed there and now there isn’t.  Our house is officially, for the time being anyway until a sofa/chair bed is procured, a mother in law free zone.

4 responses to “Did you miss me?

  1. I hope, for everyone’s sake it stays that way… she sounds quite a trial. As for getting lost, it never ceases to amaze me the numbers of people who travel to and from their homes every day and yet are hopeless about telling anyone else how to get there! What if there was an emergency and they had to get the fire department there in a hurry… “Oh, let’s see… you have to go by the church, then there’s a car park, and hmmmm, oh, there’s a little shop on the corner -that will be on your right – look for … oh… what is the name of it?” Combing through the embers the following day…yikes!

    And yes, I did miss you – why I only said to Myself this morning, “Self, we must find out where she is!” And then you reappeared… none the worse for having to find your way back, I see. Do you have such things as mobile GPS devices out there in the hinterlands? I would (literally) be lost without it!

  2. yes, your postings were missed, but I understand the whole thing about not being able to write for a while. Sometimes, the right frame of mind just isn’t there ….

  3. You had me all excited for a second there when you said you were feeling better because of this and I couldn’t see what was in the photo……. I thought maybe your puppy had arrived. A word of caution about puppies though, Toni managed to get a grass seed lodged down her ear last weekend and it cost nearly £180 to have it removed, weed whackers are cheaper!!! 😉

  4. Oh I do hope there is no chance your m-i-l could wind up living with you. Try to find any other option first. Is there a possibility she could get live-in help? It is not that expensive as
    supplying them with a room is part of the compensation. Toxic in-laws are very hard on a marriage/relationship. My father-in-law hinted a few years ago that they might sell their property here and live part time in their vacation house in Vermont but would need some place to stay when back here in Jersey.I let him know right then that their constant fighting and yelling at each other would not fly in my house. He said, ” Oh well, I guess your place is out.” YUP!!! Glad he’s got that straight.

Leave a Reply

