Machine Embroidery

 

My second etsy mom from the baby shower was having a girl and said that her husband didn’t do pink or frilly and they liked bugs and nature.   I had originally thought having guidelines would have made it harder to decide what to do but it actually made it easier.

So I thought a fleece with machine embroidered bugs would be good however I decided to digitise a ladybird myself.  I don’t know why I even contemplated this.  Since getting my embroidery machine at least 10 years ago me and the software have never gelled.  I’m normally quite good with computer software but not this.   I once managed a paw print for a fleece for Auntie Ann’s dog Ben, that’s it in 10 years – a paw print.  However the software means that I can buy designs on-line, download to a card and pop it in the sewing machine.  This saves loads of money on the pre-programmed cards so although I can’t get to grips with it, the software was worth buying. 

The machine wasn’t exactly cheap even though it was reconditioned.  We were coming home from our first trip to Edinburgh and I’d found this sewing shop that was in the opposite direction, not by much, and persuaded B to take me there.  They were really good and gave demonstrations and ran me through how the machine worked.  The machine had been bought by a lady just before a newer model came out and she brought it back and part exchanged it for the new one, so it looked brand spanking new with all the manuals untouched.  This was also the day I realised that if I wanted to buy something in which B had absolutely no interest that all I needed to do was keep him in a shop long enough and price became the last thing on his mind.  ‘If you want it, you get it!’  looking longingly at the door.

One of the first designs I bought was from Vermillion Stitchery – these are really detailed cross stitch designs which do take a while to sew as they are very detailed and have loads of colour changes but they do look fantastic.

The site I got the bug designs (and the previous pencil toppers and bracelets) from is Embroidery Library and they are great.  The designs are available individually or in packs and they have tons of special offer $1.00 designs and free ones too. 

So after about five hours my heart shaped ladybird looked like a fly and who wants a fly on baby stuff?  (Although these pics do show the actual colour of the fleece perfectly.)

    

‘I know’ I thought ‘why don’t I just buy some and why didn’t I just do that in the first place?’ 

So here’s the finished fleece without a fly in sight…

I stitched the designs on seperate peices and then appliequed them onto the backing, with it being fleece there was no edge visible and the back side of it looked neat too, so I didn’t need to add another layer to hide the seams.

One response to “Machine Embroidery

  1. Cute and delightful!
    What a gift for a child, girl or boy, to be surrounded with nature!

Leave a Reply

